How to Split Test Landing Pages for Free
If you want to split test your landing pages to get the best conversions, there is a very easy way to do it.
And the best part, it is completely FREE.
Split testing is also called A/B testing.
But what is Split Testing?
Split testing or A/B testing is jargon for a randomized experiment with two variants, A and B, which are the control and treatment in the controlled experiment.
As the name implies, two versions (A and B) are compared, which are identical except for one variation that might affect a user's behavior.
Significant improvements can sometimes be seen through testing elements like copy text, layouts, images and colors.
This applies to any advertising platform like Facebook, Google or any other.
Hold on and you'll see how easy it is to setup your landing pages split tests.
But why you need to split test your landing pages?
Let's suppose the cost per click is $1.
Imagine you have a landing page 1 (LP1) converting at 30% and you sent 100 clicks to that landing page.
That means you got 30 subscribers for $100.
So the CPL (cost per lead) is $100 / 30 = $3.33
So you want to improve that and you run some split tests with landing page 2 (LP2) and now you have a conversion of 50%.
Let's run the numbers again with 100 clicks.
With 100 clicks you got now 50 subscribers.
The cost per click is $1 again, so $100 to get 50 subscribers.
So the CPL is now $100 / 50 = $2
That is a very big improvement and I hope you get how important it is to always split test your landing / optin pages.
So let's get started.
What you'll need
- 2 different optin pages
- A thank you page
- A Google Analytics account
The steps to follow
- Create a Goal in Google Analytics
- Create a Google Analytics experiment
- Check your results
In this guide, I assume you already have Google Analytics installed in all your pages (the 2 LPs and the thank you page).
Step 1. Create a Goal in Google Analytics
Recently I wrote a post about creating a Goal in Google Analytics.
If you haven't read it yet, then go and read it 🙂 then come back here.
In this guide the thank you page will also be /thank-you where the goal will fire.
Step 2. Create a Google Analytics experiment
Inside your Google Analytics dashboard, go to
Reporting > Behavior > Experiments
Now click on Create experiment
Give a name to your experiment and select the experiment objective by selecting the goal you've created in Step 1 and click on Advanced Options.
Turn ON the distribute traffic evenly across all variations.
If you are sending a lot of traffic to your LPs, you can set the minimum time the experiment will run to 3 days or one week.
As soon as the experiment finishes (reaches 95% statistical significance) the experiment will stop.
Don't worry, Google Analytics will do all the calculations for you.
Now click on Next Step.
Configure the experiment by entering the 2 URLs you want to split test without the http:// as shown below.
Then click on Next Step.
Click on Manually insert the code and copy the code.
If you have a coder or a webmaster, just select the send code to webmaster option.
If you are doing it manually, you'll have to add the code to the original landing page (the control page).
No need to add the code to the second landing page (the treatment page).
Now go to your landing / optin page.
I am using WordPress with Thrive Content Builder which is a very robust drag and drop page builder.
Paste the code in the <head>code</head> section of your page and save the page.
Click on Next step to validate the code and to check that everything is OK.
You should now get a validation tick that means it all went well.
You can now Start the experiment.
Now you can see the experiment is running.
You should now open the traffic to the first URL (LP1) and Google Analytics will do the split testing for you.
We have setup the traffic to be splitted evenly to both landing pages.
Let it run for 2 weeks or until it finds a winner.
I'll show you my results from a previous experiment I've run.
Step 3. Check your results
I've setup my experiment to run for 2 weeks.
If, however, there is one page that is clearly outperforming the other, the experiment stops early.
Keep in mind that after your experiment ends, all users see the original page until you replace it.
If you stop an experiment, you cannot restart it.
So let me show you my results from a previous experiment I run.
You can see in the details that it found a winner.
I click on the experiment name to get more info.
Here you can see the Original landing page has a better conversion rate (20.29%) than the variation (11.54%).
I could not beat the original page, yet.
In that case, I'll keep the original and I will split test it with another landing page to try to beat it and this is what you should always do with all your landing / optin pages.
Split testing your landing pages is a very important task that not many marketers do.
If you follow the steps outlined above, your ROI can only increase as you will always beat your best control page.
I hope this helps and if you have any questions, post them in the comments.
If you're looking for more information about Google Analytics Content Experiments check the official website.